Frozen Terror 1: Apocalypse LEGO 10 Year Anniversary Remastered

Ten years ago, Emil Acevedo (Virgeo Studios) released the stop-motion animated short film, Apocalypse LEGO Episode 1: Frozen Terror using LEGO minifigures. Since then, it has had over a million views and over 4 thousand likes. In the years following, he released FT2: LEGO Submergence, FT3: LEGO Club Che Boom Boom, FT4: LEGO Block War, and most recently FT5: One Shot, Two Kills.

I met Emil at last year’s Denver Comic Con (now called Denver Pop Culture Con) when I was working for Nerds That Geek, and covered his panel on stop-motion animation. When I introduced myself and told him that I’d be writing an article about his panel (read it here), he offered to do an interview as well (watch it here). Somewhere along the line, Emil asked if I would be interested in composing music for his most recent work in progress, Frozen Terror 6. I jumped at the chance and began working with some ideas that he had come up with for guitar.

After sending him some of the samples I had put together for FT6, Emil told me about his plan to digitally remaster FT1 and release the updated version for the 10 year anniversary of the original. But there was an issue. In the original, he had used a clip of music from a popular video game, which meant that he was very limited in where he could show it (e.g., not in film festivals). He asked me to re-score it with my own music so that there wouldn’t be copyright issues. I took the core of the ideas that he had come up with for FT6, tried to match the overall mood of the original music, and shaped it around the preexisting sounds (explosion, alarm, etc.). He also asked me to score the rest of the film, which meant that I was able to be a little more creative because in the original, there is only music in the first few minutes (up to when the alarm goes off). The end result is: Frozen Terror 1: Apocalypse LEGO 10 Year Anniversary Remastered!

P.S. I didn’t write the elevator music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s